Table 1 Timeline of major events - GOVERNMENT
---

Tubic I II	memic of major events - GOVERNIMENT
Year	Event
1840	Treaty of Waitangi
1852	Constitution Act grants representation and establishes six provinces
1854	General Assembly opens in Auckland
1858	Coronation of Māori King
1860-1	First Taranaki Land War
1863-4	Waikato War
1865	Native Land Court established; capital shifted to Wellington
1868-9	Second Taranaki (Titokowaru's) War
1876	Abolition of the provinces and establishment of local government
1891	Liberal government formed
1907	New Zealand constituted as a Dominion
1912	Reform Government formed
1914-	First World War
1918	
1935	Labour elected
1936	Reserve Bank nationalised
1938	Social Security Act
1939–45	Second World War
1946-48	Bank of New Zealand nationalised
1947	Statute of Westminster adopted by Parliament
1948	Wartime controls institutionalised through the Economic Stabilisation Act
1949	National government elected
1950	Legislative Council abolished
1960	Holyoake (National) Government
1967	Robert Muldoon becomes Minister of Finance
1972	Kirk (Labour) government
1975	Muldoon (national) Government
1984	Lange (Labour) Government and Roger Douglas becomes Minister of Finance
1990	National government
1996	MMP Electoral System introduced
1999	Clark (Labour) government
2008	Key (National) government ;NZ-China free trade agreement
2015	TPP agreed